We are a group of scientists interested in using the nematode C. elegans to understand biology.

Participating Labs:

Anna Allen, Orna Cohen-Fix, Ann Corsi, Harb Dhillon, David Eisenmann, Andy Golden, Andrew Gordus, Eric Haag, Iqbal Hamza, John Hanover Aimee Jaramillo-Lambert, Antony Jose, Byung-Eun Kim, John Kim, Yumi Kim, Michael Krause, Katherine McJunkin, Mervyn Monteiro, Kevin O'Connell, Damien O'Halloran, Eyleen O'Rourke, Geraldine Seydoux, Diane Shakes, Hari Shroff, Harold Smith, Jessica Tanis, Bruce Vogel, Jiou Wang.

Where we meet:

We meet, met, will meet someday soon? at BS004 in the Biological Sciences Building at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.


Upcoming Meetings: All meetings begin at 9.00 am on zoom with food provided by the audience for themselves, for now. Speakers typically do not eat while speaking.


Jan 22nd 2021: Andrew Folkmann (Seydoux Lab, JHU)

Feb 5th 2021: Justin Van Goor (Haag Lab, UMCP) & Jessie Kirschner (John Kim Lab, JHU)

Feb 19th 2021: Madeline Cassani (Seydoux Lab, JHU) & Bridget Donnelly (McJunkin Lab, NIDDK)

Mar 5th 2021: Andy Lam (Tanis Lab, UD) & Nathan Shugarts (Jose Lab, UMCP)

Mar 19th 2021: Xiaofei Bai (Golden Lab, NIDDK) & Amanda Ray (Gordus Lab, JHU)

Apr 2nd 2021: Lauren Ryan (Haag Lab, UMCP) & Christine Rourke (Jamarillo-Lambert Lab, UD)

Apr 16th 2021: Jocelyn Haversat (Yumi Kim Lab, JHU) & Andrea Putnam (Seydoux Lab, JHU)

Apr 30th 2021: Daphne Knudsen (Jose Lab, UMCP) & TBD (Cohen-Fix Lab, NIDDK)

May 14th 2021: Sijung Yun (Genomics Core, NIDDK) & Jason Pfister (O'Connell Lab, NIDDK)

May 28th 2021: Memorial Day break: No BWC

Jun 11th 2021: Michael Gruss (Corsi Lab, CUA) & Tetsu Fukushige (Krause Lab, NIDDK)

Jun 25th 2021: John Paul Ouyang (Seydoux Lab, JHU) & Michael Clupper (Tanis Lab, UD)

Jul 9th 2021: Prabhu Sankaralingam (O’Connell Lab, NIDDK) & Rebecca Tay (John Kim Lab, JHU)

Jul 23rd 2021: Mary Chey (Jose Lab, UMCP) & Will Simmons (Seydoux Lab, JHU)

Aug 6th 2021: Niranjan Bhandari (Jaramillo-Lambert Lab, UD) & Dan Konzman (Hanover Lab, NIDDK)

Aug 20th 2021: Laura Thomas (Seydoux Lab, JHU) & Tao Cai (Golden Lab, NIDDK)

Sep 3rd 2021: Labor Day break: no BWC

Sep 17th 28th 2021: TBD (McJunkin Lab, NIDDK) & Peter Kropp (Golden Lab, NIDDK)

Oct 1st 2021: Matt Hurlock (Yumi Kim Lab, JHU) & Rebekka Paisner (Gordus Lab, JHU)

Oct 15th 2021: Sohini Dutt (Hamza Lab, UMCP) & Josh Blundon (Yumi Kim Lab, JHU)

Oct 29th 2021: Benedict Quagraine (Allen Lab, Howard U) & Kent Kwah (Jaramillo-Lambert Lab, UD)

Nov 12th 2021: Samiha Tasnim (Jose Lab, UMCP) & Alishia Scholl (Seydoux Lab, JHU)

Nov 26th 2021: Thanksgiving break: no BWC

Dec 10th 2021: Kayla Klatt (Yumi KIm Lab, JHU) & Taina Cotin (Allen Lab, Howard U)


Past Meetings

Postdoc Positions Available!

Announcements (By Andy Golden)

Celebrating Antony's tenure with dinner at Carolina Kitchen. [clockwise from left]: Mike Krause, Matthew Buechner, David Eisenmann, Antony Jose, Geraldine Seydoux, Eric Haag, Bruce Vogel, Iqbal Hamza, Orna Cohen-Fix, Kevin O'Connell, Ann Corsi, Andy Golden, Anna Allen, Katherine McJunkin.

Geraldine Seydoux elected to the National Academy

Celebrating Geraldine's election to NAS with dinner at Ranazul. [clockwise from left]: Anna Allen, Eric Haag, Kevin O'Connell, Orna Cohen-Fix, Iqbal Hamza, Andy Golden, Bruce Vogel, Antony Jose, John Hanover, Harold Smith, Mike Krause, Geraldine Seydoux, Matthew Buechner. The night featured Guitar playing by Eric and an amazing rendition of Ella Fitzgerald's Summertime by Harold.

...@ Kevin O'Connell's hand-made bar

Hari Shroff wins award from President Obama for his work towards "Google Worm"!

Offer on WormLab software for tracking worms!

Worm story from Haag lab in New York Times!